About benchex

benchex is a consultancy firm specialising in the cooperation between brands and retail.

benchex is the European leader in retail barometers for non-food categories. We offer the benchex Retail Barometer© from a single source in the most important European markets and guarantee both high quality and compatibility in situations where coordination is low.

Our aim is to provide the optimum shopping experience for consumers and better cooperation in the marketing process. This guarantees increased success for brands and for retailers.

Read in our Case Study, how brands and retailers benefit from closer collaboration

Objectivity

We prepare our simultaneous projects on behalf of multiple brands. With just one questionnaire, we evaluate all the important brands in one market sector.

Market Focus

The brands’ performances can only be managed if the scale, i.e.: the market climate in each respective category, is correct.

Measures

We determine specific, brand-focussed strategic measures for your brand based on its performance vs. that of the competition.

Internationality

We work in all major markets. By comparing what they do with what’s going on abroad, our clients can manage activities in their own country.

Why brands use our services

Retail is your most important partner

Of course, the consumer, whom you want to buy your products or services, is the focus of the marketing process. Yet, in most sectors, brands primarily reach the consumer via retail. This means that retail must work effectively alongside the brand’s entire marketing process. If anything goes wrong here, it can’t be put right. Even in the case of categories with little media influence or which don’t sell very often, the consumer’s decision to purchase is made at the retail outlet and not as a result of the brand’s other marketing activities.

Your competitors are your benchmark

benchex continually evaluates brands by directly comparing them with their immediate competitors. Only by acting in this way can a company’s competitive strengths and weaknesses be identified and communicated. In creating a quantitative basis for both decision-making and your negotiations with retail, we at benchex don’t replace your good personal contact with retailers… we enhance it!

Retail structures are becoming more and more complicated

In the non-food sector, a great deal of the relevant sales channels is already managed by sales teams and we need to be aware of and consider each channel’s specifics in order to specify a sensible strategy per channel.  benchex analyses market feedback in each channel, laying the foundations necessary for gaining this knowledge.

Our results are externally and internally relevant

With the help of our reports, personalised to your brand, you can enter into immediate discussions with retailers. In addition, we create an overview of retail’s priorities and its performance compared to the competition – only with our analyses can you plan strategies that are tailored to actual market requirements. If you work in the subsidiary of an international company, benchex analyses can help you justify your business actions, allowing you to build an objective basis for conversations with your colleagues abroad. If you work in international sales, our analyses will help you compare and manage your subsidiaries. If distributors are in play, the benchex Retail Barometer© helps you to evaluate them subjectively and tactically so you can obtain all the facts and create an objective view of the market.

We prepare our projects simultaneously on behalf of multiple brands

Each brand we work with receives a personalised report which compares its own performance with that of all relevant competitors, regardless of whether we’re also working with these competitors’ brands or not. This is how we’re able to create such a high level of objectivity and how our brand comparison can facilitate significant analyses.

The benchex Retail Barometer© is a long-term initiative

We only work in markets in which the intention is to use the Retail Barometer© at regular intervals. This makes the results sustainable.

Why retailers use the Retail Barometer©

Feedback is the first step

So your suppliers can carry out your requirements and address their respective competitive weaknesses, you need to know their current status. Feedback is the first step. By offering it, you are putting your suppliers in a better position to improve

It couldn’t get more efficient

Our Retail Barometer© is used by multiple brands that are either on board from the outset or that decide to participate once the project has started. In each case, your feedback goes to these multiple brands, which also work with the results. Ultimately, these brands invest in your opinion.

Your assessment of each brand lasts 2-3 minutes. This can take up to 20 minutes in total because we evaluate multiple brands, but… we always respect your time and continually optimise the questionnaire alongside quite a number of projects. We also only use one questionnaire to evaluate all the brands in a given category – it couldn’t get more efficient than that!

There can be no information leaks

Retail participants receive their assessments directly from benchex and not through a third party. In addition, many brands work with their comprehensive, brand-specific report – this means that you will be always be informed of the findings, which, in turn, means that “poor performing” brands can’t hide their result. benchex creates transparency.

The benchex Retail Barometer© is a long-term initiative

We only work in markets in which the intention is to use the Retail Barometer© at regular intervals. This makes the results sustainable.

Your participation is a catalyst

Brands invest in improving their cooperation with you, their retail partners. We present the Retail Barometer’s© findings, as well as your feedback, to management in each brand. Your feedback must, therefore, not go through third parties. It is passed directly (and, of course, anonymously) to the decision makers and only used in one way – to work out what the strategies for improvement should be.

Your participation is voluntary, anonymous and safe

Your contributions remain with benchex. Only aggregated and anonymous analyses are passed to the client.

Simple Share Buttons

Über benchex

benchex ist eine auf die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Marken und Handel spezialisierte Unternehmensberatung.

benchex ist die Nr. 1 in Europa wenn es um Handelsbarometer in Non-Food Kategorien geht: wir bieten das benchex Handelsbarometer© aus einer Hand in den wichtigsten europäischen Märkten an und stellen hohe Qualität sowie Vergleichbarkeit bei geringem Abstimmungsaufwand sicher.

Unser Ziel: optimale Shoppingerlebnisse für den Konsumenten und bessere Zusammenarbeit im Vermarktungsprozess für mehr Erfolg für Marken und Handel.

benchex ist eine Kooperation mit der Prof. Roll & Pastuch Management Consultants GmbH, dem Sieger des “Best of Consulting” in der Kategorie Marketing & Sales* 2014 und 2015.

* wiwo.de vom 28.10.2014  * wiwo.de vom 28.10.2015

Objektivität

Wir setzen unsere Projekte parallel im Auftrag mehrerer Marken auf. Mit nur einem Fragebogen werden alle wichtigen Marken in einem Markt bewertet.

Marktorientierung

Die Leistung der Marken wird erst handhabbar wenn die Skala stimmt: das Marktumfeld der jeweiligen Kategorie.

Maßnahmen

Aus der Leistung der Marken im Wettbewerbsvergleich leiten wir konkrete Maßnahmen­empfehlungen je Marke ab.

Internationalität

Wir arbeiten in allen wichtigen Märkten. Durch den Ländervergleich steuern unsere Kunden lokale Aktivitäten.

Marken und Handel

93%

… der Mitarbeiter eine Marken­unternehmens haben direkt oder indirekt mit dem Handel zu tun *

* Eigene Erhebung in 20 Unternehmen

70%

… der Kauf­entscheidungen werden beim Handel getroffen *

* GfK 2011

20%

Nur 20% Trefferquote wenn Marken nach ihrer Einschätzung der Anforderungen des Handels gefragt werden (verglichen mit den Angaben des Handels)*

* Eigene Erhebung

Warum Marken uns beauftragen

Der Handel ist Ihr wichtigster Partner

Natürlich: am Ende des Vermarktungsprozesses steht der Konsument, der Ihre Produkte oder Services kaufen soll. Aber in den allermeisten Branchen finden Marken ihren Weg zum Konsument über den Handel. Das heisst: beim Handel muss sich die komplette Vermarktung der Marken bewähren. Was hier nicht klappt, kann nicht kompensiert werden. Gerade in Kategorien mit geringem Mediadruck oder seltenem Kauf wird die Kaufentscheidung beim Handel getroffen und nicht durch sonstige Marketingaktivitäten der Marken.

Ihre Wettbewerber sind Ihr Maßstab

Marken werden mit benchex stets im Vergleich zu direkten Wettbewerbern beurteilt. Nur so lassen sich Wettbewerbsstärken und –schwächen ermitteln. Der gute persönliche Kontakt mit dem Handel wird durch benchex nicht ersetzt sondern ergänzt: wir schaffen eine quantitative Basis zur Entscheidungsfindung sowie zur Gesprächsführung mit dem Handel.

Handelsstrukturen werden immer komplexer

Gerade im Non-Food Sektor gibt es eine Vielzahl relevanter Vertriebskanäle, die von einer Vertriebsmannschaft gemanagt werden. Zur Definition einer sinnvollen Channelstrategie ist es erforderlich, die Spezifika der Channels zu kennen und zu berücksichtigen. benchex analysiert das Marktfeedback in den jeweiligen Channels und schafft so die erforderlichen Grundlagen.

Unsere Ergebnisse sind extern und intern relevant

Mithilfe unserer markenindividuellen Reports können Sie unmittelbar in die Diskussion und Umsetzung mit dem Handel einsteigen. Andererseits schaffen wir einen Überblick über die Prioritäten des Handels und Ihre Leistung im Wettbewerbsvergleich: erst mit unseren Analysen können Sie Maßnahmen anhand der Markterfordernisse planen – statt anhand Ihrer internen Einschätzung. Wenn Sie in der Tochtergesellschaft eines internationalen Unternehmens arbeiten ergänzen Sie Ihre Argumentation durch benchex Analysen und schaffen so eine objektive Gesprächsbasis mit Ihren internationalen Kollegen. Arbeiten Sie im International Sales helfen Ihnen unsere Analysen, Tochtergesellschaften zu vergleichen und zu steuern. Sind Distributors im Spiel hilft das benchex Handelsbarometer, die subjektive und taktische Einschätzung des Distributors um Fakten zu ergänzen und eine objektive Marktsicht zu schaffen.

Wir setzen unsere Projekte stets im Auftrag mehrerer Marken gleichzeitig auf

Jede beauftragende Marke erhält einen markenindividuellen Report, in dem die eigene Leistung mit der aller relevanter Wettbewerber verglichen wird – unabhängig, ob diese Marken ebenfalls Auftraggeber sind oder nicht. Wir schaffen so hohe Objektivität und ermöglichen durch den Markenvergleich aussagekräftige Analysen.

Das benchex Handelsbarometer© ist eine langfristige Initiative

Wir starten Projekte nur in Märkten, in denen die Absicht besteht, das Handelsbarometer in regelmäßigen Abständen zu wiederholen und so Ergebnisse nachhaltig zu machen.

Warum der Handel am Handelsbarometer teilnimmt

Feedback ist der erste Schritt

Damit ihre Lieferanten auf Ihre Anforderungen eingehen können und ihre jeweiligen Wettbewerbsschwächen angehen können, müssen sie wissen, wo sie stehen. Feedback ist der erste Schritt. Sie versetzen Ihre Lieferanten in die Lage, besser zu werden.

Effizienter geht´s nicht

Wir setzen unser Handelsbarometer im Auftrag mehrerer Marken auf. Entweder sind von Anfang an mehrere Marken mit an Bord, oder Marken entscheiden sich während des Projektes zur Teilnahme – Ihr Feedback geht in jedem Fall mehreren Marken zu, die mit den Ergebnissen auch arbeiten werden. Schließlich investieren die Marken in Ihre Meinung.

Ihr Beurteilungsaufwand je Marke liegt bei 2-3 Minuten. Weil wir zu mehreren Marken befragen kann sich das auf ca. 20 Minuten summieren. Aber: erstens respektieren wir Ihre Zeit und optimieren den Fragebogen im Laufe etlicher Projekte kontinuierlich. Zweitens nutzen Sie ja nur einen Fragebogen zur Beurteilung aller Marken einer Kategorie – effizienter geht es nicht.

Es kann nichts versickern

Teilnehmer aus dem Handel erhalten von benchex direkt eigene Auswertungen. Zudem arbeiten mehrere Marken mit ihrem markenindividuellen, umfangreichen Report – Sie werden also in jedem Fall über die Ergebnisse informiert, so dass es „schlechten“ Marken nicht möglich ist, ihre Ergebnisse zu verheimlichen. benchex schafft Transparenz.

Das benchex Handelsbarometer© ist eine langfristige Initiative

Wir starten Projekte nur in Märkten, in denen die Absicht besteht, das Handelsbarometer in regelmäßigen Abständen zu wiederholen und so Ergebnisse nachhaltig zu machen.

Ihre Teilnahme löst etwas aus

Marken investieren in die Verbesserung der Zusammenarbeit mit Ihnen, den Partnern im Handel. Wir präsentieren die Ergebnisse des Handelsbarometers und somit Ihr Feedback in der Geschäftsführung der jeweiligen Marken. Ihr Feedback muss also keine Umwege nehmen, geht direkt (natürlich anonym) an die Entscheidungsträger und wird zu einem Zweck erhoben: um gehört zu werden und um daraus Verbesserungsmaßnahmen abzuleiten.

Ihre Teilnahme ist freiwillig, anonym und sicher

Ihre Angaben verbleiben bei benchex, es werden nur aggregierte und anonyme Analysen an die Auftraggeber